Skip navigation

rsz_av-06-c~airline-stewardess-posters

The right wing cries wolf every time the public option is brought up. You don’t want a bureaucratic, option-limiting, send-you-home-to-die Canadian-ish  system, do you? Do you know that Canadians have to wait years to have a procedure until Big Brother says so? Blah. blah, blah. To put such fear mongering perspective, journalist Jonathan Rauch compares the current American health care system with making an airline reservation.

“Hello! Thank you for calling Air Health Care, the airline that works like the health care system. My name is Cynthia. How can I give you travel care today?”

“Hi. My name is Jonathan Rauch. I need to fly from Washington, D.C., to Eugene, Oregon, on October 23.”

“Yes, I’d be happy to assist you with that. It does look like we can get you on a flight on January 23 at 1 p.m. or February 8 at 3 p.m. Which would you prefer?”

“Neither. I need to be in Eugene on October 23. As in, the 23rd of October.”

“I’m sorry, we have nothing open on that date. You might try another carrier.”

“I suppose I’d better. Who has availability?”

“I’m afraid I have no way to know that. I have no way to look into their systems.”

“Who would know?”

“You can call them individually and ask. I’m sure you can find one.”

“Look, I don’t have time to call two dozen airlines. It’s important that I get to Eugene on the 23rd. There must be something you can do.”

Leave a Reply

